Saturday, Mar 24th

Last update:10:48:02 PM GMT

You are here: National National Politics PEAIS 2011

PEAIS 2011

E-mail Print PDF

Ministry of Panchayati Raj (MoPR), celebrated the National Panchayat Diwas on 24th April, and decided to give the annual PEAIS 2011 Awards to the best performing States under the Panchayat Empowerment & Accountability Incentive Scheme (PEAIS) and the Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha 2011 Awards to best Gram Sabhas and Gram Panchayats in the country, the e-Panchayat Awards 2011.

ePanchayat Puraskar 2011: This Year a national award in the category of e Panchayat Puraskar was instituted by MoPR in order to appreciate the excellent achievement of various States in the implementation of Model Accounting system for Panchayats (MAS) and PRIASoft. It is pertinent to mention here that the MAS and PRIASoft has enhanced accountability and transparency of the Panchayats and also institutionalized robust but simple financial management system.

State Prize
Odisha First Prize
Maharashtra Second Prize
Tripura Second Prize
Punjab Third Prize
Assam Third Prize

PEAIS - Assessment of the States for 2010-2011: Panchayat Empowerment Accountability Incentive Scheme (PEAIS) was implemented by the Ministry of Panchayati Raj (MoPR) in 2005-06 to motivate states to empower the Panchayats by devolving Funds, Functions and Functionaries (3Fs). The scheme aims at encouraging the States for empowering the Panchayati Raj Institutions (PRIs) and putting in place mechanism for transparency and accountability of the PRIs. Performance of the States in these respects is measured through a Devolution Index (DI) formulated by an independent institution. A token award is also given to the States, for which the annual provision is currently at Rs. 10 crore.

Rashtryira Gaurav Gram Sabha (RGGS) Puraskar 2011: In order to appreciate and devise an appropriate structure of incentives and to recognize and encourage the Panchayats for outstanding performance through effective Gram Sabhas, especially in respect of improvements in the social and economic structure of the village, the Ministry of Panchayati Raj has instituted National level Awards for Best Gram Sabhas and name it as “Rashtriya Gaurav Gram Sabha”. The broad objective for instituting this award is to incentivise excellence in performance of Gram Panchayats through effective gram sabhas. It is expected that the Award will not only be a step to energise the Gram Sabahs will encourage the Gram Panchayats to organise more gram sabhas and encourage people’s participation. This year the following Gram Sabhas and Gram Panchayats have merited for RGGS 2011:

District/State Block/ Taluka GramPanchayat/ Gram Sabha Sarpanch Award recipient
Belgaum/Karnataka Athani Shira guppi V. Iragouda Patil
South Goa/Goa Sanguem Kirlapal Dabal R. Sonugaonkar
Rajkot/Gujarat Padadhari Depaliya R. Dalsaniya
Rohtak/Haryana Rohtak Assan Raj Singh